Fiona has been the editor of the Pilgrim Rabbit since the very first edition in December 2018. A member of St Mary’s choir, she is also curator of Beverley’s splendid Guildhall.
We hope that you enjoy perusing the newsletters and discovering more about the rich history and heritage of St Mary’s. Happy reading!
Join our mailing list
To receive the newsletter directly please sign-up to our mailing list. Simply enter your email address in the box below:
Submit an article
The Pilgrim Rabbit aims to inspire excitement in the heritage of St Mary’s and to keep people in touch with what’s going on in the church.
Anyone who would like to submit an article should contact Fiona using the email address on the back page of the newsletter.
Larkin about in Beverley
Larkin researcher Philip Pullen writes about the great English poet’s visits to St Mary’s and Beverley, taking us on a virtual tour of the town. This special edition also includes an illustrated article by John Duncan about the label stops on the newly-restored North Nave Clerestory.
A special edition all about troubled genius, Augustus Pugin, our architect from 1844 until his death in 1852. A fascinating and hugely influential figure, the feature article looks at Pugin’s work at St Mary’s and the part which Beverley played in his life.
A special edition for lockdown – about the restoration of the Danish soldiers plaque. The article by Roland Deller includes a piece originally written by Barbara English & Hanne Hamilton for CoScan Magazine.
The feature article in this edition is Under our Feet: the Stones of St Mary’s, by Barbara English
With a centrefold spread about the Wartons of Beverley by Pamela Hopkins: “The great wealth of the members of the Warton family who lived in Beverley in the 17th and 18th century can be seen in their memorials in Beverley Minster and St Mary’s Church”.
Featuring some historical observations by John Duncan.
Featuring The Wrestler story, by Colin Bradshaw, exploring one of the bosses on the nave ceiling.
Barbara English takes a closer look at St Mary’s glorious Tudor font.
Including A church warden’s view, by Judith Fleming.
The experience of being a volunteer Welcomer at St Mary’s: a personal account by Derek Fisher. Plus The White Rabbit by Derek’s fellow Welcomer, the historian Pamela Hopkins.
The first edition of The Pilgrim Rabbit was a very memorable one, featuring Professor Barbara English’s article 1520: the year the church fell down.